Dog Songs

10 Jul
Our little Asher Lev

Our little Asher Lev

When we were in Argentina, I was reading Mary Oliver’s Dog Songs, a book of poetry about, well, dogs. I loved it and hated it, mostly because I didn’t have a dog at the time, and it made me want one even more. I didn’t get to finish it before I had to return it to the library, but I think now Asher Lev is in my life, I want to check it out again. Here’s one of her short poems, so perfectly expressing the joy and sweetness of owning a dog.

Little Dog’s Rhapsody in the Night

He puts his cheek against mine
and makes small, expressive sounds.
And when I’m awake, or awake enough

he turns upside down, his four paws
  in the air
and his eyes dark and fervent.

“Tell me you love me,” he says.

“Tell me again.”

Could there be a sweeter arrangement? Over and over
he gets to ask.
I get to tell.

P.S. One of my favorite moves of Asher’s is when he stretches out his front legs when we give him belly rubs…it just seems like such an unashamed, blissed out posture! 

One Response to “Dog Songs”

  1. Ashley July 15, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

    Awww this is so cute! I really really really want to meet your fur baby 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

