The Moving Curse

5 Jun

moving-houseDoes it even need to be said? Moving sucks.

Before we headed out of Pasadena last week, our Venezuelan neighbor Amara brought us some fancy truffles from her chocolate shop in Old Town. As we stood outside our moving truck at 10pm, sweaty from a long day of loading boxes, Amara and her husband told us about a region in Venezuela where the people are known to be harsh, and where they have a curse that goes something like this: “I hope you move 100 times in your life!” Like, “Go to hell” isn’t good enough…I hope you have to uproot, to pack, to clean, to move heavy boxes and furniture, to travel with all your worldly possessions in a truck, to move the heavy boxes and furniture again, and then to find a place for everything…100 times. It’s really awful, but of course there are a few good things about moving: the chance to simplify and streamline one’s possessions, the chance to start over in a new apartment, to make new resolutions (“a place for everything and everything in its place!”).

Something that often goes along with moving is job-hunting, whether it’s before or after the move. Now that I’ve spent 4 consecutive days at a coffee shop using their free Wifi to look for jobs, I’m realizing a curse just as bad as the moving one would be this: “I hope you have to look for a job a hundred times in your life!” Ugh. Kind of feels like I have looked for jobs that many times. Since graduating from Fuller, I have definitely applied for well over 50 jobs. Hopefully whatever I find this time sticks for a while!

What do you think? Hate moving? Or are you one of those weirdos that loves it? 😉

One Response to “The Moving Curse”

  1. Megan June 6, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    I hate moving! That being said, I have done it about 8 times in the last 5 years. I am to the point where I don’t want to unpack some boxes because I feel like I am going to move again once my lease is up. But hopefully this next time will be into a house…that I will own. And it will have a room for the Thompson’s 🙂

    Love you! Hope the transition id going well.

    Like

What do you think?

