Flood Watch

2 Jan

An intense inner desire is already the sign of his presence in our hearts. The rest is the work of the Holy Spirit. –Brennan Manning

Spring up, O Well
–or don’t.
What will I do
when the dam
built by fear
finally breaks?
A strong sweet
ache wells up
from the deepest
place where
only echoes of
other depths
sing in the
emptiness.
I perch on
an outcropping,
vigilant,
waiting
for the moment
for the flood
for the cataract
unleashed.
I know it will
demand of me
a leap.
My heart races
all the time now.
Who camps out
on a precipice?
Where will this
torrent take me?
Where will I next
set up my tent?

What do you think?

