S to the Ock

11 Mar

Just realized tonight while driving that I really like the word “sock.” But not as in the kind you wear on your foot (unless you’re talking about sock puppets). I like it when used in these kinds of contexts:

“Sock away money for a few months…”

“Sock-it-to-me cake” (I didn’t make that up, it’s in my Great Grandma Irma’s recipes)

“She was so mad she socked him in the face”

Maybe this is why I like the term “sock monkey” so much. Two of my favorites in one whimsical phrase.

Isn’t there a line in an oldies song that says something like “sock it to me?” Can we please bring that phrase back? I’ll give it a go.

*Please note that this post is aptly filed under “random” and “nerd alert.”

2 Responses to “S to the Ock”

  1. grackyfrogg March 13, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    i love “sock-it-to-me” cake.

    Like

  2. Jackson April 13, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    “Isn’t there a line in an oldies song that says something like ‘sock it to me?'”

    R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

    Like

What do you think?

