Pop Christmas

14 Dec

b000002a4601_sclzzzzzzz_I don’t usually start listening to Christmas music until the day after Thanksgiving.  That’s fair, right?  I’m not the kind of person who’s super into it, but I definitely listen to it like 75% of the time for the month of December.  But my love for holiday music is not an unconditional love.  Far from it.  There’s certain Christmas songs that make me want to dance and kiss someone under the mistletoe and give rosy-cheeked children mugs of hot cocoa with candy cane straws.  But then there’s Christmas music that literally makes me turn off the radio and cringe.  I’m not talking about carols here…I definitely have my favorites of those (We Three Kings; Joy to the World, ahem, NOT because of my name, thank you) and the ones that I feel guilty for hating so much (Silent Night, What Child Is This?).  But for the sake of a simplified list, here are my best and worst of holiday pop music:

Faves:

1. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (not the creepy version by Jessica Simpson)

2. This is What Christmas Means to Me (by Stevie Wonder)

3. All I Want for Christmas Is You (Mariah Carey)

4. This Christmas (by Donny Hathaway)

5. Happy Xmas (The War is Over) by John Lennon, but The Fray does a good cover

6. Feliz Navidad*

Cringe-worthy:

1. Christmas Shoes

2. Santa Baby

3. Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer

4. Anything by Alvin and the Chipmunks

5. Mary Did You Know?

6. Feliz Navidad*

*You may have noticed Feliz Navidad made both lists.  There are reasons for that.  Depending on my mood, the situation, and the artist (David Crowder does a cool version, Celine Dion’s makes me want to throw up) I can either love or hate this little ditty.  The best way to sing it is spontaneously, a capella, with a bunch of friends.  Incidentally, same with the song “Mele Kalikimaka” – I have a great Lewis House memory of that from Christmas last year in Australia.

**Also, can I just say I don’t even own all of the songs on my favorites list?  And that iTunes has this really cool thing where you can “gift” music to friends?  Just saying.  

So what are YOUR favorites and least favorites?  Inquiring/bored bloggers want to know!

6 Responses to “Pop Christmas”

  1. Martin December 14, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    Thanks for the comment on my poem…

    by the way: I really dislike when popstart make their own versjon of christmascarols…

    Like

  2. Mrs Fordyce December 14, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    Do you think you dont like silent night because its the solo I sang at Haven House all those years ago when we left your 2 year old self at church and went to Pizza Hut without you? 🙂

    Like

    • netanya December 14, 2008 at 11:21 pm #

      Excellent psychoanalytical diagnosis, Sarah! I think I repressed that memory. 🙂

      Like

  3. Jackson December 16, 2008 at 7:58 am #

    I love all the old Dean Martin tunes, particularly “Baby, it’s cold outside,” and, “I’ve got my love to keep me warm.”

    I agree with you about Feliz Navidad, and totally understood (prior to your explanation) why it made both lists.

    Like

  4. Ashley December 21, 2008 at 1:55 am #

    Joy! Well why on earth would you not LOVe “Grandma got ran over by a reindeer?” Isn’t it worthy of being in everyones top five? 🙂

    Like

  5. Rachel Moyal December 21, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    That’s so funny sisters, I forgot about that wonderful Pizza hut/ Joy getting abandoned Christmas memory! I totally agree with some of your pics Joy, I hate “What child is this”! One of my faves is the Simpson’s sisters “Little drummer boy” so good!

    Like

What do you think?

