Be Ye Thankful

27 Nov

22_rockwell_lg_l

Hmm.  So it’s Thanksgiving.  Just another day around here at Grimerud.  The sun rises around 8 am, sets around 3:30pm and everyone goes about their lives.  I’m trying REALLY hard not to be depressed about the fact that I am missing Thanksgiving for the second year in a row.  Blah, it’s such a bummer!  Everyone here has been saying, “Hey, can’t you just make some turkey or something?”  But it’s not about the food…it’s about the people, and about the feel in the air, and about seeing my dog waddle around at the end of the day trying to keep herself from falling into a food coma.  Good times.  BUT.  I’m totally thankful for a lot of things.  You know, the usual…friends and family and my health and the fact that I have always had everything I needed.  I’m also thankful that I’m here in Norway (okay, maybe not this exact day, but for the most part) and I’m thankful that God is so generous and decided to make my dreams of seeing the world come true.

Last night I was complaining to my mentor that I didn’t know what to do once this DTS is over in the spring time.  I have a big basket of options and I’m not sure if I should just close my eyes, stick my hand in, and pick one or if I should lay them all out on the table and make some pro/con lists.  Or ask God to dissolve all but one.  That would be cool.  But when I was whining to Heather, I remembered something I heard Erwin McManus say in a podcast a couple weeks ago.  He was speaking to people in this exact situation, people who feel like they have a lot of options for their future and just can’t decide.  Erwin said to be thankful.   How many people, women especially, are born into a world without any options?  It’s a sobering and humbling thought.

So I am thankful.  I’m thankful that my life is a colorful assortment of adventures and experiences and gifts, that God’s beauty and love chase me down wherever I go on this green earth.  I’m so thankful I’m coming to know a God who does these things, and doesn’t give up on me when I act like a spoiled brat every other day.

Psalm 23 (The Message)

 

Psalm 23

A David Psalm

 1-3 God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. 
   You have bedded me down in lush meadows, 
      you find me quiet pools to drink from. 
   True to your word, 
      you let me catch my breath 
      and send me in the right direction. 

 4 Even when the way goes through 
      Death Valley, 
   I’m not afraid 
      when you walk at my side. 
   Your trusty shepherd’s crook 
      makes me feel secure. 

 5 You serve me a six-course dinner 
      right in front of my enemies. 
   You revive my drooping head; 
      my cup brims with blessing. 

 6 Your beauty and love chase after me 
      every day of my life. 
   I’m back home in the house of 
God 
      for the rest of my life.

2 Responses to “Be Ye Thankful”

  1. Jackson November 28, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    I wish you the best of luck in your decision making. It’s tricky to make decisions when there are many right choices, as well as many wrong ones. I guess the goal is to pick a right choice and just go for it. No regrets that way.

    Like

  2. Mrs Fordyce November 28, 2008 at 3:17 pm #

    We missed you too Joy Joy! I really wish you would have been there…I will send you a detailed account of what you missed (and didn’t).

    Like

What do you think?

