Revisited

19 Nov

“We get one story, you and I, and one story alone. God has established the elements, the setting and the climax and the resolution. It would be a crime not to venture out, wouldn’t it?

It might be time for you to go. It might be time to change, to shine out.

I want to repeat one word for you:

Leave.

Roll the word around on your tongue for a bit. It is a beautiful word, isn’t it? So strong and forceful, the way you have always wanted to be. And you will not be alone. You have never been alone. Don’t worry. Everything will still be here when you get back. It is you who will have changed.”

“Everybody has to leave, everybody has to leave their home and come back so they can love it again for all new reasons.”

Donald Miller,

Through Painted Deserts

Well, I did leave.  Twice.  Actually, three times now.  I went to Australia, then I came back.  Then I went to Norway, came back for my sister’s wedding, and the left again.  And yes, these are some of the best things I’ve ever done.  Everything Donald Miller said was true.  I have never been alone, I have changed, and everything is always there when I get back.  But he was also right when he said that when you came back, you’d love home again for all different reasons.  When I came back for Sarah’s wedding, I loved being home.  I love being in Norway, but I really loved being home.  Does this mean that I’m done traveling for a while?  Honestly, I don’t know.  I don’t know what I’m doing after this DTS anymore than I knew what I would be doing after Australia…and look, here I am in Europe!  So next year, I might be in Valencia, or Jerusalem, or Boston, or South Africa, or Paris… But I think, if God wants me to have a “home” now, I’ll be ready for it.

6 Responses to “Revisited”

  1. Halvard Furnes November 19, 2008 at 3:04 pm #

    …or Norway! It’s nice to have you here! KRIK is not the same without… 🙂 I liked your “Norwegian letter” it was interesting to read. Se you

    Like

  2. Monica November 19, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    i love reading the blogs, really! I find your life very interesting Joy! miss you. Monica.

    Like

  3. netanya November 19, 2008 at 11:42 pm #

    Thanks Monica!
    And Halvard, you are so right…Norway is definitely a big option in the basket! See you soon.

    Like

  4. milne November 20, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    today i was just telling my friend Craig that: “Everybody has to leave, everybody has to leave their home and come back so they can love it again for all new reasons.”
    and then i read your blog…..and i was like YEAH we(me and you)are going through the SAME Emotions and Feelings and Living Through Painted Deserts, and I Knew I was and You are Not alone
    I know that saying/Quote is soo true in soo many ways!!I just got back form my trip to Port Elizabeth my hometown and in a week and a half I am off to the UK so yeah I KNOW WHAT you MEAN!
    for me the funny thing is, I didn’t think it was going to be so hard Saying Goodbye because I mean I have done it when I went to the usa, but i am guessing the 2 or 3 or 6 time its just gets Harder and Harder…only Time will tell that Story
    i feel the same as you that i don’t know where I will be in the next year even but:” i don’t know what the Future hold’s but I know how Holds me”
    i hope i see you Soon Where ever that will be in this WORLD

    Like

  5. Kyle Absten November 21, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more, we must leave our home to truly appreciate it. Be careful though, some times you find yourself not able to return even though you really want to. Stay warm!

    Like

  6. netanya November 26, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    Super M! I can’t believe you’re about to set off on another adventure! I’m so excited for you. I want to come see you in the U.K.! Or you can come see me in Norway…

    Like

What do you think?

