Quotable Friday, Vol. 29 (Road Trip Ed.)

4 Nov

“The challenge to the missionary does not come on the line that people are difficult to get saved, that backsliders are difficult to reclaim, that there is a wedge of callous indifference; but along the line of his own personal relationship to Jesus Christ.  ‘Believe ye that I am able to do this?’ Our Lord puts that question steadily, it faces us in every individual case we meet.  The one great challenge is – do I know the power of His indwelling Spirit?  Am I wise enough in God’s sight, and foolish enough according tot he world, to bank on what Jesus Christ has said […], which is the only call for a missionary, [namely], boundless confidence in Christ Jesus?”

Oswald Chambers,

My Utmost For His Highest

It’s amazing how quickly one loses perspective in this race we’re running.  This week, I’m leading an outreach for a week on the West coast of Norway.  Today I was confronted with my own fear of what people will think when we get home if we don’t have an exultant success story from the week’s outreach.  Because that puts a LOT of pressure on my shoulders, as the leader.  It’s funny, because all I really need to do is believe that Jesus can do what He says He can – that God is who He says He is.  And that’s where the last part of this quote comes in and really rings true…because if I really believe these things, my thoughts behavior will naturally and gradually change, leading to more reckless gambling of my life on the promises He’s made, and inevitably, more foolishness in the world’s sight.

With that in mind, we’ll see how our last two days of outreach go…

One Response to “Quotable Friday, Vol. 29 (Road Trip Ed.)”

  1. Martin November 5, 2008 at 2:15 am #

    Proverbs 37, 5….I do that everyday…at it is the best

    Put you hand in the hand of The Man – Jesus Christ

    Like

What do you think?

