Sicky Pants

12 Oct

I’m sick today.  Considering the travel I’ve done, the climate change, and my crazy schedule, I’m surprised it’s taken this long for the cold virus to find a chink in the almost invincible armor that is my immune system.  But I woke up today with a sore throat and a stuffy head and a general feeling of misery in my own skin. 

You know what’s worse than being sick?  Being sick in a place that is not home.  You know what’s worse than being sick in a place that’s not home?  Being sick when you’re living in a big house with dozens of other people and these heavy old doors that are slamming at all hours.  It’s irritating on my best days, but right now I feel like being a cartoon character and somehow fastening pillows to my ears.  So of course, being sick and away from home makes me a bit…homesick.  

Here are some things I miss about home and Southern California in general:

1. The food.  Oh, the food.  I could write ten blogs about all the food I miss, but especially all of the fresh produce; hummus and everything else from Trader Joe’s, and Stonefire salads.  Sigh.

2. The weather.  The second half of October in Southern California is so gorgeous.  Just starting to cool down, but still sunny and beautiful.  

3. Going out.  You know, dressing up and putting on make-up and meeting my friends for a party or a movie or whatever.  I live on a farm now, so my opportunities for this kind of thing are few.

4. Speaking of going out, going to movies.  I LOVE seeing movies in the theater.  I think it costs about $1000 for a matinee here, so unless I find myself being courted by a wealthy suitor, I don’t think I’ll be going anytime soon.

5. And another type of going out – going out to lunch.  One of my favorite things to do in the world!  Meet a friend, get a salad and iced tea, and sit on the patio talking and enjoying the paradise that is Southern California’s climate.

6. Starbucks.  Iced green tea…*long, drawn out sigh*

8. Fusion and Christian Assembly

8. And of course, my friends and family.  You know who you are.  I miss you guys bad.  Real bad.

9. Trixie Belle Hopkins, a.k.a. Miso, a.k.a. Pumpkin Spice Latte, a.k.a. Trijito, a.k.a. Stinker, a.k.a. Grover, a.k.a. Corn Muffin, a.k.a. Wheatie.

5 Responses to “Sicky Pants”

  1. danielle stucky October 12, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    ohhhh, joy! so sorry you are sick friend. And yes, the worst is being sick away from home, remember my sickness in the dorms??? hope you feel better. Kailynn just got over three weeks of sickness with one week in there for me to get sick. there is definitely something going around, don’t feel too homesick because you are obviously on the same southern californian vibe cuz everyone is sick here! I am always praying for you and will now add your health to the God conversation:) I talked to your mom about a week ago at church and she wanted to know if i knew you were coming home in nov. I got excited and was like no way and then she said it was for the wedding and i said i knew that and if she knew you were going to stay longer and she said no and it bummed me out and i wondered why she got my hopes up like that? hee hee did you get all that? anyways, love ya bunches friend, get better

    Like

  2. Trixiebelle October 12, 2008 at 9:29 pm #

    I miss you too Joy! I miss all you cute terms of endearment for me, your gentle pats on my ears and those walks in our gorgeous So Cal weather. Mommy took me on a walk and I kept going and going cause the weather was so perfect. If I could I would cuddle up with you and help you heal up faster! I look forward to your visit soon! Love You…Trixie.

    Like

  3. netanya October 13, 2008 at 9:08 am #

    Danielle – thanks for your novel-length comment! Hee. Yes, I’ll be home for less than a week in November for Sarah’s wedding…I will be so wrapped up in wedding stuff that I am not really broadcasting the fact I will be home…I probably won’t be able to see many people! Sad, I know. But then, you’ll blink and it will be April and I’ll be home again! Glad you are feeling better…

    Trixie – you are a filthy liar. You and I both know you would be completely unsympathetic and aloof if I was home sick. Stop acting like we don’t have a love/hate relationship. (Mom, you are crazy).

    Like

  4. danielle stucky October 13, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    I’m blinking…blink…blink….blink… is it april yet? lol

    Like

  5. Sarah October 13, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    What a sweet little poodle that Trixie is! And such a funny mom too!

    Like

What do you think?

