Domestic Goddess of the Oregon Trail

20 Sep

Yeah…this is another shallow-content blog.  Lately inspiration and timing haven’t been able to get their ish together.  In the meantime, may I direct you to a site I just discovered?  It’s called The Pioneer Woman, and it’s about this girl who was raised in the suburbs, spent her college years in L.A., and then met and married a cowboy and now lives on a working cattle ranch with their four kids.  This is not just a blog, it’s a straight-up website.  There’s a blog section called “Confessions” which I can’t recommend because it really doesn’t do it for me.  But she’s got some pretty cool photography on the site, and also some basic lessons in photography and Photoshop that you might find helpful, although I haven’t really looked at it yet.  Okay, but this is why I’m recommending it: the recipes!  She’s got a good handful of amazing-looking recipes with step-by-step instructions and, get this, step-by-step photos!  For someone like me, who’s not totally sure on the best way to boil water, this is a huge plus.  Although we’ve got a kitchen on this floor, Norway is kind of lacking on many of the “basic” ingredients for her recipes…or I’m just too cheap to buy them.  BUT, I fully intend to try some of these when I get home and I think I may even have a shred of hope for successfully making them!  Especially these Mystery Rolls…oh my goodness, it makes my mouth water to think about them.  Although, I’m thinking about giving her Apple Brown Betty a try tomorrow…it calls for brown sugar, butter, apples, and bread.  Check, check, check, check.  There’s a huge apple tree out on the front lawn, so that’s not a problem…If only I can find a baking dish… I’ll let you know how it turns out.  Anyway, the whole site is really well laid-out and pretty to look at, so have fun! Don’t forget to stop back by here sometime soon!

2 Responses to “Domestic Goddess of the Oregon Trail”

  1. Rachel September 28, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    Hey Joy Joy,
    So, guess what me and Justin made for dinner on Friday? The Asian salad? It was really good! Thanks for the website! Next week at game night I’m totally trying one of the desserts! Love you!

    Like

  2. netanya September 28, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    Hey sissy! I’m so glad you liked it! I will have to live vicariously through your cooking for now…considering I only get a chance to get to the grocery store once a week (if I’m lucky). Let me know which dessert you try and how you like it!

    Like

What do you think?

