Quotable Friday, Vol. 25

18 Jul

“I am not the only person to seek his fortune far from home, and certainly I am not the first. Still there are times I am bewildered by each mile I have traveled, each meal I have eaten, each person I have known, each room in which I have slept. As ordinary as it all appears, there are times when it is beyond my imagination.”

Jhumpa Lahiri

“The Third and Final Continent”

Interpreter of Maladies

I can’t say much to go along with this quote, except that I deeply identify with it.  The “fortune” I have sought far from home does not align with the traditional connotation of the word; piles of cash or vaults full of gold or even stacks of accomplishments.  But in my short few years of travel I have become rich with experiences, interactions, sensations, and insights that these foreign places have lavished on me.  It is bewildering, at times, and even more so when I speculate about how my riches will multiply when I’ve been traveling for 6 years instead of 3, 20 instead of 6, 50 instead of 20.

One Response to “Quotable Friday, Vol. 25”

  1. Daniel July 18, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    I definitely identify with this quote. Reminds me of something Somerset Maugham said about travelers feeling more comfortable in a strange place than with their own kind. Thanks for the reminder from us at http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com.

    Like

What do you think?

