Here I Go Again On My Own

14 Jul

I’m off again!  This time to Norway.  Random, I know.  I met an amazing couple (Andreas and Heather) while I was doing my YWAM DTS in Australia, and they invited me to be on staff for a DTS Andreas is leading in his homeland of Norway.  You can read more about why I’m going on the page entitled “My Norway Letter.”

And no, I’ve never been to Norway before.  I have some idea of what it will be like…for instance, it’s cold.  I have never experienced weather below 20 degrees farenheight, so that might be a problem.  Apparently, an old Norweigan saying is, “There is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing.”  That little snippet of practical optimism does not bode well for me and my low-iron blood. 

But hey, the cuisine seems sumptuous…their national appetizer is brine-cured herring with raw onions, while a favorite national dish is a cabbage-and-mutton stew served with boiled potatoes.  According to Frommer’s, the boiled potatoe is ubiquitous.  I salivate at the thought.

Okay, really though, reindeer steak and cloudberries were also mentioned…they both seem appetizing and somewhat whimsical, like maybe Little Red Riding Hood had them on the menu for her sweet sixteen.

The animals aren’t as cool in Norway, but there are reindeer (aforementioned in steak form), arctic foxes, and otters.  Cute, cute, and cute!  I LOVE otters.  Norwegians are reportedly the most athletic bunch among Europeans, so maybe I’ll go on a hike near a fjord or river some day and spot a little otter…yay!  That just might make up for the fact that I did NOT get to cuddle a koala while in Australia.  I know.

So pretty much I picture Norway like Narnia while under the White Witch’s curse of 100 years of winter.  Except there IS Christmas in Norway.  And the animals don’t talk.  I think.  I’ll let you know.

One Response to “Here I Go Again On My Own”

  1. Jenny July 14, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    I think I love otters too.

    Like

What do you think?

