Happy Blogiverssary!

22 May

Exactly one year ago I began this blog.  Wow.  Seems like only yesterday that I opened up my wordpress account, all embarrassed and secretive and not using my first name.  I can’t say we’ve come a long way, but I can say I’m glad I started Eeper.  It’s been a fun outlet for me when work gets boring, and hopefully a fun distraction for you when work gets boring. 

Today I was able to change my “About Me” section a little bit.  Remember how I said I wanted to have coffee with one of my favorite authors, Robin Jones Gunn?  Well, last Saturday I was able to meet her!  This is only a dream come half-true because it was at a book signing so I didn’t get to really sit and pick her brain.  But we did chat for about 10 minutes, she said some really sweet things, and gave me a bit of advice about writing.  It was kind of like talking to a friend’s mom. 

I’m SO excited to read her new books (which she signed for me), Peculiar Treasures and Sisterchicks Go Brit!  I’m especially interested in the former because it is the first installment in the new Katie Weldon series, which picks up where Christy and Todd: The College Years left off.  I can’t wait to see how all my old “friends” are doing.  (Make fun of me all you want…as a teen, I actually talked about these characters in such familiar terms that my mom thought they were real people).  If you want some great beach reads for the summer, pick up some of Robin’s books.  Here’s a picture of the two of us…and my face isn’t usually that weird potato shape.  I hope.

3 Responses to “Happy Blogiverssary!”

  1. Jackson May 22, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    That’s great! It always feels great to have a conversation with someone that you admire. It was obviously a very positive interaction. I can tell by the way that both of you are smiling in the photo — totally genuine.

    Congrats on the one year mark. Here’s to another!

    Like

  2. Sissy Sarah May 23, 2008 at 12:47 am #

    I am so glad you are writing this blog Joy Joy! It is such a welcome escape for me in my long work days. I am always amazed at how deep you are and I learn a lot from you! Keep it up!

    Like

  3. your mamma June 3, 2008 at 9:36 pm #

    Great work Joy! I am so proud of you and your writing…(and so many other things that you are too) I enjoy hearing your voice on life…you have such a way with words….its the Middlebrook gene, I think!

    Like

What do you think?

