Guess What I Am?

9 May

Today I got a message on Facebook from this guy I met in Israel, a Jerusalem resident named Avishai.  Amid the normal catch-up chit-chat, there was this line:

“I noticed you were still traveling, you little voluptuary…”

Now, I’m pretty sure Avishai’s first language is Hebrew, so I thought maybe he had gotten his languages mixed up or something.  I have a pretty extensive vocabulary, but what the hell is a voluptuary?  Is it a good thing or a bad thing?  So I looked it up:

vo·lup·tu·ar·y    [vuhluhp-choo-er-ee]

–noun
1. a person whose life is devoted to the pursuit and enjoyment of luxury and sensual pleasure.

One of the synonyms listed was “hedonist.”  My Christian upbringing just won’t let me revel in this description, but at the same time…who doesn’t like luxury and pleasures derived from our sense of sight, smell, taste, and touch?  I wouldn’t say my life is devoted to it, but I do have to say it made me laugh out loud to be called such.

What do you think?

