Quotable Friday, Vol. 20

18 Apr

“There are only two questions that human beings have ever fought over, all through history.  How much do you love me?  And Who’s in charge?

 

I hate using quotes from the same book two weeks in a row, but deal with it.  In her book Eat, Pray, Love Elizabeth Gilbert credits this bit of wisdom to a hundred year old lady she met once.

It really made me stop and think.  Massive generalizations about the human species tend to have me critically pondering for a while.  Can one really say that all of mankind is hung up on these two questions?  I know that, for me, it’s really true.  I look back on all the awful fights I had with my past boyfriends.  All the conflict could usually be stripped down to my insecurity in their love or my frantic and ugly grasping for control.  Same goes for my relationship with God.  Any time there’s a strain, a break in the intimacy I have with Jesus, I can usually follow the trail of distrust back to not believing that He really loves me, or just an unwillingness to let go of control of my own existence.

Going back to the dawn of time (or the dawn of the human race, depending on who you talk to) we see that Eve struggled with these same two questions.  “If God really loved me, why couldn’t I eat from that tree?  And why does He have to be in charge, anyway?  This ol’ snake here is saying I could be just like Him…I could be in control of my own destiny.”  You guys know the rest of that story.

So I guess it’s kind of safe to say that this random old lady was right.  She was talking about battles between nations and tribes and families, or course.  But I see that these two questions fly on banners at the frontlines of humanity’s rebellion against God.  Those two questions that the Enemy planted thousands of years ago still have the battle raging today.

One Response to “Quotable Friday, Vol. 20”

  1. mizpah31 April 18, 2008 at 7:17 pm #

    Netanya, I don’t see the same questions that you do. I think the question has to do with yieldedness. As I read your musing the 9th chapter of The Book of Romans came to mind. In the 20th verse Paul wrote, “But who are you o man to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘why did you make me like this?’ Does not the Potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?”
    I can only be grateful that My Potter provided His Son to make it possible for me to be a lump of clay in His Hands. He hasn’t chosen to make me for noble purposes but I will be eternally grateful that He has made me what He wants me to be and that I am yielded to Him in His purpose. Mizpah31

    Like

What do you think?

