Gossip Girl

10 Oct

0000039823_20070517133204.jpg
Why, oh why, am I so powerless in the clutches of the CW? I knew I shouldn’t watch the pilot of Gossip Girl, but I Tivoed it anyway. And despite my disgust with the way the show portrays sixteen-year-olds partying, talking, and drinking like 35-year olds (what kind of bar serves a martini to a high schooler?), I still find myself drawn in to the drama, the ridiculously good-looking cast, and the top 40 soundtrack. I’m so freaking predictable. But I have to admit, what first drew me to the show was its star, Blake Lively, who plays Serena. She played Bridget in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and she’s awesome. I totally want to look like her. Or her SoTP co-star and CW vet (Gilmore Girls, what), Alexis Bledel. I was not disappointed in her performance in the pilot. An unforeseen plus was Penn Badgley’s adorable “good guy” character, Dan; the intelligent, confident-yet-self-deprecating type who doesn’t even realize he’s good looking.

All that to say, after being seduced by images of a glamorous, Manhattan socialite lifestyle; I’m about to embark on a minimalist, Australian missionary adventure. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Don’t watch Gossip Girl. It’s addicting.

What do you think?

