Quotable Friday, Vol. 11

14 Sep

“I find television to be very educating.  Every time somebody turns on the set, I go in the other room and read a book.” 

~Groucho Marx

I used to be such a bookworm… I was the kid who carried a book everywhere. I was scolded in elementary school for reading under my desk during class. I was known to talk about characters in books like they were real people and actual friends of mine. My day hadn’t started until I’d eaten breakfast with a novel in my hand. I would lay for hours on the hammock in the backyard reading and re-reading my favorites. I was the type of kid who would walk into things because I would try to read and walk at the same time. What happened to me? Why do I zone out in front of the TV when I get home from work? Yuck. I don’t even like TV. There’s so many books I want to read, but I think the problem is that reading is so emotionally exhausting. Each book makes me passionate about something, makes me want to get up and laugh or love or fight or learn or cry. When I get home from work, I’d rather just be numb. How sad is that? Last night I read a novel while eating my dinner, and it was wonderfully relaxing…it’s good to get back to the things you forgot you loved.

One Response to “Quotable Friday, Vol. 11”

  1. Sheena October 1, 2007 at 6:38 pm #

    Joy,
    I find reading your blog extremely strange. Its like you have been reading my thoughts on so many things. Cancel your cable for one. Keep the internet and you can watch the shows that are actually worth while online (ok some that aren’t too are ok sometimes) but you will find you don’t even miss it after a while. I dont. I really find it annoying to go to someone’s house and they flick on the TV. DON’T PEOPLE TALK ANYMORE?
    ps. cereal and novels are my favourite things anywhere, anytime.

    Like

What do you think?

