Quotable Friday Vol. 3

20 Jul

“Out of nowhere I remembered something one of my priest friends had said once, that grace is having a commitment to– or a least an acceptance of– being ineffective and foolish.  That our bottled charm is the main roadblock to drinking that clear cool glass of love.  […]  I do not at all understand the mystery of grace–only that it meets us where we are but does not leave us where it found us.  It an be received gladly or grudgingly, in big gulps or in tiny tastes, like a deer at the salt.  I gobbled it, licked it, held it down between my little hooves.”

Anne Lamott

Traveling Mercies

I am going to try REALLY hard to not use quotes solely from Anne Lamott from now on.  But I feel like almost every line I read by her is worth underlining, writing in my journal, sharing with others.  I started reading her book, Traveling Mercies, as I traveled halfway around the world to Israel.  I’m almost done with it, and I think everyone who reads it would be moved by her honesty and beautiful writing as I was.  Plus, it’s really funny.

What do you think?

