Quotable Friday (Monday Edition)

25 Jun

“The continual inner-searching we do in an effort to see if we are what we ought to be generates a self-centered, sickly type of Christianity, not the vigorous and simple life of a child of God. […] How long is it going to take God to free us from the unhealthy habit of thinking only about ourselves?  We must get to the point of being sick to death of ourselves […]”

–Oswald Chambers

“My Utmost for His Highest”
June 21

Here’s what I wrote in my journal in response to this passage:

“I think I’m definitely getting to that point of being sick of myself.  Sick of examining my life from every angle, going through my thoughts with a fine-toothed comb, weighing every motive and testing every emotion.  […] I know it’s part of my natural temperament […]  Chambers prescribes living up to our calling as a ‘royal priesthood’ by interceding [praying] for loved ones and strangers alike instead of constant self-examination.”

One Response to “Quotable Friday (Monday Edition)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quotable Friday, Vol. 21 (Wednesday Edition) « Eeper - April 30, 2008

    […] how selfish I am (this happens every couple weeks).  I would like to fix this about myself for many reasons, and it was tough to swallow this guy’s words which essentially say that I’ve […]

    Like

What do you think?

