Work Self

20 Jun

Does anyone else feel like they are a weird, hollow version of herself at work?  It’s like the second I walk in the door, I become a 2-dimensional, shadow-like version of me.  Joy 1.0, if you will.  I feel tired, sluggish, bored with life.   Sometimes I can barely keep my eyes open.  I can’t see very far ahead into my future…it looks a little bleak.

But the second I get in my car at the end of the day, the real me swoops back in.  It’s like in those stupid movies when a ghost steps into the body of a mortal and animates it.  The true me steps into the work shell, and I become full of life again.  I’m excited about seeing friends, going to the gym, having some frozen yogurt.

When I do try to be that person at work, people look at me like I’m crazy.  Am I?  Or am I just violating cultural mores by being myself in the workplace?  I just know that it makes me dread going to work everyday, when I have to leave myself in the car.  Now that it’s getting to be in the 90’s everyday, I’m going to be sure to crack a window.

What do you think?

