Quotable Friday Vol. 32 (Monday Edition)

24 Aug

Ask for the Morning Star and take (thrown in)poems

your earthy love…

C.S. Lewis, “Five Sonnets”

Oh man, how much does that one line make you want to read C.S. Lewis’s book of poetry (aptly titled Poems)?  I’m re-reading The Great Divorce right now.  The last time I read it I was fresh out of high school…I’m interested to see how I react to it this time around, being 7 years older and with much more life experience to speak of.

It’s weird: as much as I love C.S. Lewis, I kind of can’t stand the thought of books written about his work.  I mean, yawnsville, right?  Case in point: The Way Into Narnia, A Reader’s Guide.  Seriously?  I think that robs the reader the experience of discovering the land of Narnia on her own; it’s like writing a book on how to enjoy your birthday or something.  I’d so much rather figure it out alonethan have someone spoonfeed me his opinions of what C.S. Lewis meant in the third paragraph of the fourth chapter of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, you know?

One Response to “Quotable Friday Vol. 32 (Monday Edition)”

  1. samuelking January 31, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    I always keep a Lewis book on me, right now im going through his space trilogy, particularly “Out of the silent planet”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

