Quotable Friday, Vol. 4

27 Jul

atlas.jpg 

“Remember Atlas, who carries the whole world? We have Christian Atlases who mistakenly carry the burden of trying to deserve God’s love. Even the mere watching of this lifestyle is depressing. I’d like to say to Atlas: ‘Put that globe down and dance on it. That’s why God made it.’ And to the weary Christian Atlases: ‘Lay down your load and build your life on God’s love.’ We don’t have to earn this love; neither do we have to support it. It is a free gift. Jesus calls out: “Come to me, all you Atlases who are weary and find life burdensome, and I will refresh you.”

Brennan Manning

I love reading these tender bits of wisdom from Manning, but they also kind of depress me.  No matter how often I read them, I can’t seem to actually let their truth sink into my heart and change me.  I want the truth of grace to be planted like a seed in my heart, growing into a tree that changes the harsh and barren landscape to a place of cool refreshment.  In a podcast I recently listened to, Erwin McManus talked about the Word of God crashing into our hearts and changing us in the same explosive way as a fallen meteorite or plane crash.  I don’t want His truth to just skim the surface of my heart…I want it to set my heart on fire.  I do feel like Atlas.  I pray that one day I can actually dance on top of the burden I sway and sweat under so needlessly.

One Response to “Quotable Friday, Vol. 4”

  1. Gayle Ray August 14, 2007 at 9:20 pm #

    Joy….this is beautiful. Captures the thoughts and feelings of so many. I love Brennan Manning for this very reason… I agree… I want to dance on the burdens I needlessly and habitually drag behind me in the dirt! Knowing God’s love for us is the only antidote to this perpetuation of glorifying burden carrying.
    Love you Joy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

